Is there such a thing as ‘writer’s neck’?

This is a question that I often ask myself after hours sat at my computer desk, manfully tapping away at the keyboard, neck bent in serious concentration – in a highly feminine way, I might add. Today, I spent a little over five hours working hard on a project that will never be eligible for publishing, yet it is a project that is close to my heart, having consumed my every waking though for almost twelve months now.

But then I see the annual NaNoWriMo tweets flying around the internet and I begin to get a little jealous that so many other writers have a free enough schedule to take part in this fun little event. Ok, so writing 50,000 words in one month might not be everyone’s idea of a good time, but my point remains the same. I now feel as if I am standing at somewhat of a crossroads, yearning to veer off in new directions and take on new projects or stick steadfastly to the plan that I made initially.

I’m determined to see my current project through as I am no quitter, but I do so with one rather envious eye on what everyone else is doing…..

1 Comment

Filed under Starting out

One response to “Is there such a thing as ‘writer’s neck’?

  1. Oh yes, the professor has seen many of them. Haven’t you?

Leave a Reply

