Pushing on

For me, writing tends to be a joy and something that I always look forward to doing. This is especially true when work and real life becomes somewhat of a chore and I have been kept away from my keyboard longer than I would have liked. If I don’t get any writing done for more than one or two days in a row, I tend to get quite irritated and quick-tempered with those around me.

And then there are others days when the words don’t seem to flow. Days when even writing a simple sentence seems like such a burden. Days that I would rather walk away from my computer or just take a nap instead. But those are the days when a writer simply must keep writing. One day off will turn into two, until before you know it, you haven’t written anything for a whole week.

Having a job and a life and trying to balance both with getting a writing career off the ground is hard work. Time is precious and shouldn’t be squandered. I know that if I had taken the time to walk away today that I would regret it later in the week when the demands placed upon me would stop me from writing anything at all.

I may go back to today’s efforts in a few days and decide that the words are not worth keeping, but I know that today will have been productive, purely for the fact that I persevered and slogged on, despite it feeling like I was wading through treacle. With each word that I write, I am honing my skills as a writer and taking every opportunity available to push myself further than I did the day before.

Writing, for me, is a journey. There will be days when I just feel too tired to want to write anything, but it is those days that will mean the most in the long-run. I’m pretty sure that Mo Farrah didn’t give up halfway through the 10,000 meters, just because he was feeling a bit tired. He carried on and kept going until he won.

My journey is a long one, but I will never reach the finishing line if I don’t move forward a little every day.

2 Comments

Filed under Starting out

2 responses to “Pushing on

  1. I really needed to read this today – thank you! You captured my feelings of frustration so well, and also spurred me to find those precious moments and ‘just do it’ – get something on the page.

Leave a Reply

