Should writers be selfish?

This is a question that I often ask myself. Should a writer be cautious of helping those just starting out on their journey for fear that they might be better than you are?

It is not a notion that I subscribe to and I don’t know if I feel that way because of the type of person that I am or whether such a belief means that I am truly a writer. The conceited part of me would like to think that I have a foot in both camps in regards to my last statement, but that would be for others to judge not me.

When I took my first tentative steps in creative writing I sought guidance from writers that I looked up to and a few of them were more than happy to share their time and knowledge with me. It is through this process of ‘pay it forward’ that I have reached the stage whereby I believe that my aspirations in regards to writing are actually attainable. New and inexperienced writers now seek guidance and advice from me and I happily give a portion of my free time in helping them develop their skills, even though it takes up valuable hours that could be spent on creating a new piece of my own.

I have also been happy to offer ideas to writers struggling with plots and pacing, all the while telling myself that I have another hundred ideas up my sleeve for my own projects. But is that really true? Should I be more selfish and keep my ideas to myself instead of gifting them away to others?

I feel that the answer is no. Everyone has different ideas based on their own unique experiences and views on life. No one person is going to come up with the same idea as another. There will always be something that makes it different and personal to each writer. The human mind is capable of great things, the power of our imagination is limitless.

The day that my imagination runs dry is the day that I know that life will no longer be worth living and I hope that I never stop viewing the world with a sense of wonder, it makes me the writer that I am and the person that I want to be.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Starting out

2 responses to “Should writers be selfish?

  1. captainwafflez

    I agree. I think that there is no harm in holding onto smaller slices of creative magickness-ness for yourself.. but if someone is dead set on being a writer, then they’ll make it there, with your help, or without it. You might as well help them on their way with a little leg up.

    I’m a big believer in karma, and sometimes I’m tempted to be selfish, and actually succeed at it.. and then I remember myself and give it back.

    Cool post!! 😀

    • Me too, I would like to think that karma has a way of coming back around and that one day some nice person will give me the leg-up in the direction of finally getting something published. One has to hope anyway.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment on my post, I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

