Because all work and no play makes Heather a very dull writer….

Contrary to my previous posts, I made the conscious effort not to do anything in the way of productive writing today. The thought occurred to me last night that perhaps I have been spending a bit too much time slaving away over my keyboard and that I was starting to neglect other important areas in my life.

I lost someone close to me earlier this year and I wanted to do something special to celebrate her birthday next month. I came up with the idea of creating a video using pictures of her and putting it to a piece of music that means a great deal to me. As I looked through the many photos, I realised that family is a precious gift and that we must not take those that we love for granted. Too many times recently, I have been guilty of doing just this. I have cited the reason that my quest to become a published writer takes top priority countless times to family and friends, all of who have encouraged me to spend time away from my writing space, for the sake of my sanity, if nothing else.

Spending time honing my craft is all very well, but what happens if I neglect to take notice of what is happening in the world around me? Writers draw from their own experiences, what happens when I am no longer putting myself in the position to experience new things?

It was with that in mind that I deliberately downed tools today and spent some time living in the ‘real’ world and not the fictitious ones that I create in my writing. I actually spent a day relaxing and just taking things easy, and you know what? I actually enjoyed myself and more importantly, I took inspiration from what I saw when I ventured out into the harsh light of day.

Perhaps taking a day off here and there isn’t such a bad thing after all.

4 Comments

Filed under Starting out

4 responses to “Because all work and no play makes Heather a very dull writer….

  1. Nina Kaytel

    Writing is my way of coping with tragedy. However, I go visit my dad and brother (well his kids) everyday as part of my routine. We all live on the same property, different houses.

    • Writing is one of the ways that I deal with the more stressful aspects of life, but I found myself getting too introspective and to the point where I lost focus on what was going on around me, too.

      I think that we all need to find our happy medium, for some it is writing all the time and for others it is dividing the day into sections. Each person and their writing habits are individual to them and I think that coming together and discussing these kinds of things is great for everyone involved.

      Thanks very much for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. I realized this was happening to me a couple months ago. I was pushing to finish the first draft of my novel and working during all of my free time. Then I woke up one day and it was September. Summer was over and I pretty much missed it.

    So, I’ve been trying to get out there, in the real world, as much as possible. I don’t want to miss the holidays too.

    • I’m the same as you in the fact that I realized that I was missing out on a great deal by constantly being hunched over my computer and slaving away on my stories.

      I think that it makes sense to make time for just resting and relaxing and I think there is some truth in the statement that a relaxed mind is a more productive one.

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

