Thanksgiving

Firstly, I must apologize for this post being three days late. I had fully intended to post this on Thursday, but due to unforeseen circumstances, I was unable to.

Although we in the UK do not celebrate Thanksgiving, I always take the time to sit and think on all of the things that I am thankful for at this time of year. For one, I am thankful that I have my close family around me, all of whom that I love very much (even though I might not always say it or show it at the time), I am thankful for the wonderful close friends that I have, some of whom are separated by great geographical distance. I am thankful for the advent of technology and the internet, both which allow me to keep in such close contact with those who live in different countries. I am also thankful for discovering my ability to write as this is something that has become very important to me and has provided me with an outlet for my thoughts and emotions.

I think that most of us spend too much time bemoaning about the things that we do not have in life that we forget how much we do actually posses. I live in a free and democratic society (debatable, I know), I am independent, I have a job and a way of life, I have full use of my body and all of my senses. I have a roof over my head and a warm home to come back to at the end of a hard day at work. There are so many people who are not as fortunate as I am and so I often think twice before moaning about my lot in life, knowing that others are worse off than me.

I may not have much, but what I do have I appreciate and am thankful for. Perhaps that is the true meaning of Thanksgiving.

 

7 Comments

Filed under Starting out

7 responses to “Thanksgiving

  1. You are so inspiring today, thank you for reminding me.

  2. Great post, Heather. Perhaps we’d all be a lot happier if we took the time to give thanks for the good things in our lives. I can certainly think of quite a few in my own. Thanks for the reminder to ‘live with an attitude of gratitude’.

    • You’re very welcome. It’s that time of year that people are more concerned by what they haven’t got than that which they actually possess. I’m glad that I could be of service to you xxx

Leave a Reply

