Thoughts for Friday

www.pinterest.com

I’m hoping that this will become a weekly tradition for my blog whereby I choose a quote and the expand upon the thoughts that reading it creates. I am hoping that what I write will be of interest to at least someone, otherwise this will be the shortest-lived series of posts on my blog ever….

I like this quote for a number of reasons, the main one being that I feel it speaks directly to me. Before I discovered writing as an outlet, I will admit to being in quite an unsure place in my life. It had been a terrible start to the year and yet I found solace and comfort in writing. I found a way to express myself in ways that I often find difficult to verbalize. With writing, I feel as if I am free from the constraints that would otherwise hold me back. I have always been quite shy and unsure of myself, writing gives me a voice that I might not have had otherwise.

I have so much to say but so few chances to verbalize what it is that I believe, often I feel as if there would be no one to listen if I said the words out loud. Writing gives me the opportunity to express that which I might not necessarily understand, allowing me the chance to make sense of the maelstrom of emotions that often swirl around in my mind.

There are literally hundreds of stories floating around in my mind, thousands of characters all clambering to be heard and given a voice of their own. It feels like a physical pain when I am denied the opportunity to write, I need to let the stories and the characters out, knowing that they’ll keep pecking away at me until I do.

There are many crosses we have to bear in this life, but I can think of no greater torture than having a story living inside of me and not having the chance or ability to tell it. Even if it is only I who ever reads it, at least I know that I will have given those stories and the characters associated with them a chance to be heard.

Is that what makes a writer? I don’t know, but I would like to think that it is.

Please feel free to leave your own thoughts and comments on this week’s quote, I would love to hear what others think. 🙂

10 Comments

Filed under Thoughts for Friday

10 responses to “Thoughts for Friday

  1. Nina Kaytel

    I love Maya. I started writing as an outlet of escape there were truly terrible things going on during my childhood and writing became the way to forget about it for a time. It changed from escape to an ambition the first time I heard Amee Dragon’s voice in my head.

    • Thank you so much for reading my blog post and leaving your comments. I, too, see writing as an outlet of escape and I fear that I would be lost without it.

      I hope you have a wonderful weekend xxx

  2. Wonderful post! Your dragon has been a touchstone for you; I like that and can relate. Well done!

  3. Great post. You sound like me, I’m not really much of a talker, preferring to write things out and get them right. I couldn’t have said it better.

    • Thank you so much for reading and commenting on my post, your time and thoughts are much appreciated. If only our voices came with a delete key like our keyboards do…..

      Have a wonderful weekend xxx

  4. I like the idea of a ‘Thoughts for Friday’ tradition. I’m so glad you started your musings with a quote by Maya Angelou. She is one of my favorites. And so is your blog! (I’m afraid I confused – briefly – your blog entry with one of the replies by one of your readers. I’m sorry – but my admiration for this good idea stands. Look forward to seeing what next Friday shall bring.)

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment on by ‘Thoughts for Friday’ series. I thought it would be nice to start some sort of tradition whereby I share my thoughts on memorable quotes about writing.

      I hope that I can continue to make the quotes and my related thoughts interesting.

      Have a wonderful weekend xxx

  5. This could not have come at a better time for me. On Friday someone posted a comment about me on FB that made me think “if you knew what I had been through in life, you might not be so quick to judge me”. So maybe I need to write my story and get it down and let the world know what I have been through, and maybe that will allow me to change the face that I present. My other thought was “at least I made an impression when we met, I cannot even remember meeting you!” Can’t wait til Friday for your next one! Blessings and have a good week xx

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment on my post. I am very glad to hear that it provided some comfort to you.

      I think that writing is an ideal way for anyone to express themselves and their emotions and for me it always helps to bring clarity to any given situation.

      Have a wonderful week xxx

  6. Pingback: Writer’s Club! | The Joy of Health Nutrition and Beauty

Leave a Reply

