Thoughts for Friday – 13th Dec 2013

8e9a2f072c4a77d0acdec0aff1a7d539

Due to the positive response I received for last week’s ‘Thoughts for Friday’, I have decided to keep with the theme of posting a quote that I find inspiring and thought-provoking on a weekly basis.

This week I have decided to use a quote from an author that I admire a great deal (some of you may have noticed that I’ve mentioned him a few times already throughout my blog posts). Not only do I think Stephen King is a highly talented author, I believe he has hit the nail firmly on the head with the quote that I have chosen.

The scariest moment is indeed just before you start to write something. I’ve lost count of how many times I have sat in front of my computer tearing my out my hair as I try to figure how I am going to start a new piece. That first sentence is always the kicker for me, I have spent countless hours agonizing over the best way to start a story. I type a sentence….delete it….type another sentence….delete that….and on…..and on…

Once that first elusive sentence has been nailed, I know that I then have the beginnings of an idea that I can work with and shape into something that might just cut the mustard as a finished piece. But it is that first damn line, each and every time I sit down to my computer to begin writing. That bugger of a line that refuses to be captured and locked into my page.

The first line is also the scariest.

Will it be good enough?

Is it interesting?

Will anyone want to read it?

All of these thoughts – and countless others, fly through my mind when I am in my creative zone. Sometimes the fear is so great that I feel as if I want to give up, that I should do anything except pour my heart and soul out onto a page that might never see the light of day as a published piece.

A wise person once said: ‘Feel the fear and do it anyway.’

And that’s what I’ll do. Live by the seat of my pants on this writing journey of mine, hoping that fortune favors the brave.

12 Comments

Filed under Thoughts for Friday

12 responses to “Thoughts for Friday – 13th Dec 2013

  1. captainwafflez

    ‘Blank Page Syndrome’ …it’s a killer!

    Cool post! 🙂

    • Thanks very much for taking the time to read and comment on my latest post. I absolutely hate trying to get that first sentence down on the page. It’s a stubborn little bugger!

      Heather xxx

  2. Man, you are so correct – that first line is a killer! Of course, so is the second, and the third, and the… well, you get the idea. 🙂 This was a great post. I sure can identify with it!

    • Thanks, Kate!

      I think it must be a ‘writer’ thing, to struggle with getting that first line down. We must also be sadists to keep putting ourselves through such a torturous experience!

      Heather xxx

  3. Ah yes, the dreaded first sentence. That delete button is my best friend and worst enemy. Love the post. I can so relate!

  4. Totally true. I’ve been editing my novel and keep revising and revising and revising the all important first sentence, or first paragraph for that matter. There is just so much pressure placed on those first few lines!!

    • Thanks very much for reading and commenting on my blog post, Jennifer, it is very much appreciated!

      That dreaded first line is always the hardest, I tend to feel a bit better after I’ve nailed that one 🙂

      Heather xxx

  5. I also revere the King and absorbed his every word in his book On Writing. I feel that fear all the time, too. I think it’s natural for writers. I’ve chanted that quote in my head more than I can count, to get over writing fears and many others!
    Congrats on all your recent awards!

    • Thank you, I am both very happy and honored to have received the award nominations. Thank you also for taking the time to read and comment on blog, it is very much appreciated.

      I’m a big fan of Stephen King and I really enjoyed the way that he didn’t ‘write down’ to his readers in this book, he spoke as if he were conversing with other writers and not just people who didn’t have the first clue about writing. I’ve read several books by well-known authors who impart their advice on how to write and get published yet I’ve found the majority of them to be quite condescending. SK’s book is by far my favorite in terms of helping a budding writer reach the next level.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Heather xxx

  6. My aspiring-writer friends have just given me Stephen King’s book “On Writing” as a present! I’m feeling the first stirrings of creativity already! I’m going to dust off an old story that stopped halfway!

    Great blog (I’ve come here via Lindsay Cummings, who nominated you for the Sunshine Award!). I look forward to coming back and seeing more Friday thoughts!

    • I would highly recommend Stephen King’s book to anyone who wants to further their writing career and I have no doubt that you will love his book. It’s fantastic that you’ve decided to continue writing your as-yet unfinished piece. Harness that creativity and go for it!

      Thank you very much for the lovely comments about my blog, I hope to follow you also on your writing journey. Good luck and most of all…have fun!

      Happy writing! 🙂

      Heather xxx

Leave a Reply

