Thoughts for Friday – 20th December 2013

elizabeth gilbert quote

Welcome to the third installment of the ‘Thoughts for Friday’ series!

This week’s quote comes from Elizabeth Gilbert who some of you may know from her best-selling book, Eat, Pray, Love. I’ll admit that I’ve never read the book and only vaguely remember the trailer for the film, but there was something about this quote that appealed to me, mainly for the fact that it sums up my journey as a writer so far.

Until late last year I had never really considered the use of creative writing, the closest I ever got was a witty email or clever Facebook comment, but never anything drawn completely from my imagination. Try as I might, I cannot recall the reasons why I began to write, I only know that I did.

My initial efforts were lame to say the least, yet I kept on writing with the hope that I could perhaps learn something about an art form that intrigued me so. What started as a fun and inconsequential pastime soon turned into a habit, then an obsession. Within only a few weeks of writing my first piece I was suddenly spending every spare minute that I had getting my thoughts down on paper. After years in the wilderness, had I finally discovered something I enjoyed, something that I could do with the rest of my life?

Elizabeth Gilbert’s words ring true to me, I certainly had no idea when I was a teenager that I would one day be spending hours on end hunched over my laptop trying to write a future bestseller. Who really knows what they want to be or what they want to do with their lives when they are a kid? I’ll be honest and tell you that I didn’t have a clue. Yet somehow I have found myself here on this journey with all of the excitement of an eager young child destined to begin the greatest adventure of their life.

Those who say that you cannot teach an old dog new tricks have likely never tried their hand at writing, maybe if they did they would see that there is always an opportunity to grow and learn. Age should not be a barrier to good writing, who cares if you wrote your first novel at 16 or 60?

Perhaps the point I am trying to make is that you are never too old to give writing a go. So try it….you may just like it!

3 Comments

Filed under Thoughts for Friday

3 responses to “Thoughts for Friday – 20th December 2013

  1. So true! I think I recall that the writer of ‘And Ladies of the Club’ – a best seller of a few decades ago – was close to 80 when her best selling novel was published. She may have written a few things prior to that, but I don’t think she had much success. I also recall that it took her several decades to complete her novel. Talk about discipline! Drive! There’s a story of encouragement! Really love your ‘Thoughts for Friday’ – keep up the good work.

  2. Pingback: on writing best-seller + throwing boring books + why are some copywriters selling titles instead of books? | sMart cOpywriting pLans

Leave a Reply

