Goals for 2014

2014-Sign

Seeing as the New Year is almost upon us, I thought it would be fun to write myself a list of the things that I would like to achieve in 2014. Whether or not I reach any of these goals remains to be seen, but I guess that all wanna-be-published writers need t0 have some sort of yardstick with which to measure their progress.

1. Finally finish the lengthy project I’m currently working on. It is a project that would not be eligible for publishing, yet it is something very close to my heart. Also, I simply cannot bear to leave projects unfinished. I am hoping to draw this piece to a close within the first four months of 2014 and I believe this to be a realistic aim.

2. Take part in NaNoWriMo. I very much wanted to take part this year but was unable to. By the time November rolls around I should have completed my current project and so this will leave me free to take part in the annual November writing challenge. I think it will be a fun exercise and really help me to hone my discipline when it comes to writing.

nanowrimo

3. Attend night courses at college/university for Creative Writing. A dear friend suggested that not only would this be a good way to continue to learn my craft as a writer, but also to enable to get me out and about more, perhaps to meet like-minded individuals. I think that this was my friend’s way of saying that I need to get out more…..

4. Attend writing workshops/courses throughout the year. Again, this was suggested by my friend and writing partner who is obviously concerned about my social life or lack thereof…… It’s also a very good idea and will enable me to meet other writing types in relaxed and idyllic settings (one would hope)

5. Enter various short-story competitions. If no other reason than to challenge myself and get the opinions of respected writers on my work. The ego is a wonderful thing and I am sure that many of us would like to think that we are the next JK Rowling, whether we actually are in reality is another matter entirely. I would like to think that I have some small modicum of talent hiding away in the inner recesses of my mind, but that is for others to judge, not me.

I think I shall stick to just five aims for the time being and perhaps review them in six months if I am close to achieving all of them. I believe that it is important to keep goals and aims realistic and start with a few baby steps instead of coming straight out with: ‘I wanna be a published writer by the end of 2014.’ After all, I am a writer and we writing folk have very delicate and sensitive egos – I’d be crushed if I’d made such a statement and then failed to live up to it.

So baby steps it is then. Roll on 2014 and let the games begin…..

16 Comments

Filed under Starting out

16 responses to “Goals for 2014

  1. captainwafflez

    NaNoWriMo has never worked for me.. My brain rebels against me and says: ‘Oh! You want me to think of something creative? Not a chance! Not if you’re going to force me!’

    I would strongly recommend the creative writing classes/workshops, if nothing else I’ve gained a great boost of confidence from going to them myself.

    Happy New Year! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for reading and commenting on my blog post, Happy New Year to you too!

      I want to give NaNoWriMo if for no other reason that I like a good challenge. I’ll probably find that it’s not really for me, but I would like to have a go at it anyway.

      Thanks for your comments about creative writing classes and workshops, this is something that I am currently looking into and I hope to sign up for one or two very soon.

      Thanks for reading!

      Heather xxx

  2. Let’s get it on 2014!! Go Heather, Go Heather!!

    Happy New Year!
    Aud xxx

  3. I need to add #4 to my list. I keep saying I’m going to take a class/workshop and then I get sucked back into day to day life. Hopefully, this will be the year πŸ™‚

    Good luck!!

    • Thanks very much for taking the time to read and comment, Jennifer, it is very much appreciated πŸ™‚

      I’m hoping that signing up for classes and workshops will be beneficial not only to my writing but my social life as well….. πŸ˜†

      Happy New Year!

      Heather xxx

  4. I am thrilled with the points you’ve outlined for 2014, Heather. I am especially glad you are considering some classes / workshops. You have so much to offer and to learn, and it will be thrilling for you and those you interact with. I hope you can make this happen in 2014. I’m so impressed with how far you’ve gone – say, late 2012 until now. An amazing journey. Keep at it, my friend! You are special.

    • Awww, Kate, thank you for such lovely words of encouragement!

      I really hope that I can achieve all of these goals in the coming year. It’s been a fun journey over the last twelve months or so and I am interested to see how far I can push myself in 2014.

      Happy New Year, my friend!

      Heather xxx

  5. Pingback: The Year of the Writer! | Get Bliss or Die Trying

  6. Pingback: Let the fun began! M.E.S | kassie Leigh Perkins

  7. Best of luck to you in 2014 — and thanks for following my blog!

  8. Pingback: Goals for 2014 – Mid-Term report | Trials of a wanna-be-published writer

Leave a Reply

