January challenge – Week 1

Seeing as it is a new year, I thought it would be a good idea to set myself a few challenges to flex my writing muscles, so to speak. I’ve been a little lax in keeping up my writing schedule over the last couple of months and with the turn of a new year I wanted to take the opportunity to push myself a bit more.

For January I have set myself the challenge of writing every single day of the month. That’s right: EVERY SINGLE DAY!

They say that it takes at least a month for a habit to form and so my thinking behind this challenge is that by the end of the month, writing each and every day will be an unconscious habit and something that my brain is trained to do without much thinking on my part. I also thought that it would be fun to record how many words I managed in each day. Just to be clear, writing emails, blog posts, comments and the like DOES NOT count towards my daily word total. The only words that count are those written in the guise of fiction or other writing projects that I might undertake.

I thought long and hard about posting my word count on a daily basis, I decided that it would get quite boring and tiresome after a while and so I settled on one post a week to update my readers and followers of my progress. By the end of this month I will have either formed a habit that will continue throughout the year or I will have made an ass of myself in a very public way…..

WORD COUNT: WEEK 1

01/01/14: 547 words – Not bad, considering that I had to sneak in a quick 20 minute session while preparing New Year’s Day dinner πŸ™‚

02/01/14: 884 – Again, I am quite happy with this. I’d done a full day at work beforehand and got straight into writing once I’d returned home.

03/01/14: 1367 – My best day of the year so far! I’d been wrangling two small children most of the morning and managed to find an hour or so in the later afternoon/evening between appointments.

04/01/14: 2991 – Another good day of writing. To be fair, I had quite a bit of ‘free’ time on my hands and decided to make the most of it.

05/01/14: 1020 – Not as good as the day before, but I hit the 1000-word mark for the third day in a row.

06/04/14: 1512 – A bits and pieces kind of day. I had emails to answer, a car to take to the garage and collect later in the day. Oh, I also had housework to do and dinner to cook. 1000+ words again, I’ll take that, thank you very much.

07/01/14: 1480 – Considering that I was babysitting in the morning and had to complete a night shift at work, I was quite impressed that I managed to get another decent total in for the week. I managed to sneak in a cheeky 45 minutes or so when I should have been working. Shhhhh, don’t tell anyone…

08/01/14: 1234 – After spending the first half of the day at work, I managed to sneak in another hour or so of writing in between working on blog posts, responding to emails etc.

Total word count for the week: 11035

I wonder if I’ll be able to keep this kind of pace up next week!

15 Comments

Filed under Starting out

15 responses to “January challenge – Week 1

  1. Good luck. I’ve yet to push myself to write every day. But your numbers are definitely a source of inspiration!

    • I was a little shocked myself at how many words I’d managed to get down in the last seven days. I can’t say that they are all of the highest quality, but hey, that’s what the editing process is for…. πŸ˜†

      Heather xxx

  2. Nice work! My challenge is going to start a little later since my year started off a little rough, but my goal is also to write everyday. Good work. Keep it up!

  3. SarahClare

    That’s great going!! πŸ˜€

  4. This is great. I’m currently working on Picture Book manuscripts(and my blog) so it’s not necessarily about words per day but at least about writing every day that I can…. and about forming those habits! Keep it up! Best wishes!

  5. Yay, Heather! Way to go, way to go! Posting about it will definately help you keep it up. You’ll be on track in no time. You may have even inspired me. πŸ˜€

    Audrey xxx

    • Thanks, Aud!

      Yes, blogging about it has ensured that I will have to keep to my challenge for the rest of the month or I shall end up looking like a weak-willed fool for giving up halfway through. On second thoughts, perhaps writing a blog post about it wasn’t such a great idea….. πŸ™‚

      Heather xxx

  6. Good for you! That’s a lot of words – well done!

  7. xanderpayne

    Good luck! I wish I possessed your levels of motivation… :/

  8. Pingback: Goals for 2014 – Mid-Term report | Trials of a wanna-be-published writer

Leave a Reply

