Thoughts for Friday: 10th January 2014

f3aaee1487e40a4e5c883672301852e8

This week’s quote comes from British author, Joanne Harris. I think that this may be the first time that I have chosen a writer from my own fair shores for this series and I’m not sure why that is. Britain has produced many a fine writer and author, many of whom have had great influence and success in the literary field.

Harris’ best known book is undoubtedly ‘Chocolat’, a novel that was also made into a film starring Johnny Depp and Juliet Binoche. The thing that appeals to me the most about this author is that the subject matter of many of her stories connect with me on a deeply emotional level. I really like this quote because it speaks to many of the reasons why I write myself. How many of us find ourselves unable to express our thoughts and emotions clearly? Many of us find it easier to convey our feelings through the written word with the hope that perhaps there is someone out there willing to listen to what it is that we have to say.

Writing has been a wonderful way for me to work through issues that have plagued me for most of my life and I cannot believe that I only began writing in earnest a little over a year ago. Writing has enabled me to look at things from a different perspective and has allowed me to disengage from my conscious mind so that I can concentrate on the unresolved issues in my unconscious.

Writing is many things to many people, but it has become an important coping mechanism as I learn to deal with life in its many twists and turns and seek to mend the broken parts within. No one can live forever, but fiction can allow those we have loved and lost to remain forever on the pages of a book and that is something that I will never again take for granted.

6 Comments

Filed under Thoughts for Friday

6 responses to “Thoughts for Friday: 10th January 2014

  1. I absolutely LOVE this! I pinned the quote onto pinterest….
    I have always journaled about ‘issues’ and I know it leaks its way into, no… FORMS my fiction writing… even my PB manuscripts may shed a hint of my inner being and life story… Years ago I started a YA that was really aimed at helping MYSELF overcome a HUGE issue… I had to stop when I became pregnant as I was too tired and sick to write… now that the writing bug has started up in me again….hmmm…. not sure if I’ll ever get it to a publishable state…but I may just eventually finish it at least for me.

    • I think it would be a good idea to finish the project, even if it does not see the light of day as a published piece. A lot of the writing i have done over the last twelve months has been centred on issues that I have faced and I found the whole process therapeutic and cathartic. A great way to work through issues is to get them out on the page and I would recommend that anyone with unresolved issues of any kind should try writing about them.

      Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting!

      Heather xxx

  2. Love love love. This speaks to me, Heather!

    Audrey xxx

  3. What a fantastic quote to share with us this Friday, Heather. Harris really nails it. I’d say I write because I hope someone will listen, gain a little enjoyment or have an “a-ha!” moment. So many writers, famous and fledgling, have shared their hearts with me through the stories and characters they create. It is the ultimate form of communication. Thanks for sharing this with us.

Leave a Reply

