January Challenge – Week 2

First of all, I wanted to thank everyone who left their words of encouragement for last week’s post on my January challenge. Your kind words have enabled me t0 keep on pushing this week, especially during the times when I felt so tired I could almost cry.

I was astonished at how many words I managed last week and I am hoping for a similar amount by the end of week two. Work has been increasingly busy and I’m hoping that it doesn’t have too much of a detrimental effect on my word count.

WORD COUNT: WEEK 2

09/01/14: 818 – Oh man, I felt so tired after a full day at work that all I wanted to do was go to sleep. But I forced myself to crack open the laptop and get at least a few hundred words down. I may look back on them at a later date and realize that they’re the worst 800 words I’ve ever written, but it’s the intention that counts.

10/01/14: 1837 – I was surprised at how much I got down in such a short space of time. It had been another busy day but I found a spare 45 minutes or so to get a good graft in.

11/01/14: 1684 – I’d been at work all morning, had an appointment in the afternoon and lots of other bits and pieces that chipped away at the spare time I had. Getting 1500+ words is a satisfying total for a ‘bits and pieces’ day.

12/01/14: 2904 – I had another busy day with lots going on. I managed to spare a chunk of time to get another bunch of words down on paper/computer. I also spent some of the day rediscovering my love of Microsoft Excel while creating a spreadsheet to log my word count. I had a spare hour in the evening too and used some of that to get a few more words down.

13/01/14: 1319 – Again, I had been at work all morning and had a ton of stuff to do when I got home. I did manage to find a little bit of time to whittle away a bit more at my current project.

14/01/14: 1220 – I hadn’t slept well the night before and felt out of sorts for most of the day. I had wanted to get more words down than I actually achieved and so I was a little disappointed with my efforts.

15/01/14: 1489 – I finished work mid-afternoon and found time to bash a few more words out. I gave up when my eyesight began to swim a little…..

Total word count for the week: 11,271

Total word count for the month so far: 22,306

Considering it has been such a busy week, I am surprised at how much I managed to get done. The only downside to this week has been the fact that I’ve been feeling a little under the weather and may possibly be coming down with a cold. I hope this isn’t the case, it’ll really put a dent in my totals for next week!

One of the most interesting things I have learned this week is how to prioritize my writing schedule so that it is more efficient. It has enable me to become more productive and I believe has also helped improve my level of creativity. The shorter bursts of writing are allowing me to come up with fresher ideas than I might not have had I forced myself to sit down for two or three hours writing continuously.

4 Comments

Filed under Starting out

4 responses to “January Challenge – Week 2

  1. I think your word count is top notch, Heather! Keep it up. At some point I think you’re going to inspire my inner Prioritizer…lol.

    Audrey xxx

  2. You inspire me! I am going to follow your example. Thanks for the motivation!

Leave a Reply

