Thoughts for Friday – 17th January 2014

063f5b2030bdb80265ff6b6f17266f1b

My chosen quote this week is from humorist, comedian, and author: David Sedaris. He is perhaps more well-known in the US than the UK, although he has been a regular contributor to a number of radio shows on the BBC network. Sedaris has experienced a great deal of success with his short story collections and essays, many of which have been published over the last twenty years and have resulted in over 8 million copies of his books being sold around the world.

The reason that I chose this particular quote is that it runs along the same theme as my current writing challenge. On January 1st, I decided that I would set myself the task of writing every day hoping that my efforts would result in forming a habit that I would find hard to break. Although I love writing and would do it all day every day if I could, there are some days that real life gets in the way, work takes my attention away from what I really want to do, I feel tired or a little under the weather, all reasons why I sometimes feel like saying, ‘I can’t be bothered to write today. I’ll do double tomorrow.’

Putting things off for a day tends to lead to more pressure and less inclination to get twice as much done the next day. The fear of having to write massive amounts starts building and then I find myself not enjoying the process of writing in the first place.

There have been days over the last two weeks that I have had to force myself to sit at my laptop and write – even if it is only a few hundred words. Some days I’ve wanted to cry, sleep, or do anything but write. I carried on though, pushing myself through the barriers of self doubt and ‘can’t-be-bothered-ness’ and now I find myself looking forward to the opportunity to write each day. As David Sedaris says, it is starting to become part of my identity and something that I can do without thinking. I’m also more mentally prepared to sit down and right, having scheduled my writing around the rest of my day.

Writing every day may not be to everyone’s taste, but I am finding that it works for me and it is a pace that I will do my very best to maintain throughout the whole year. Who knows, maybe I’ll be lucky enough to get published one day…..

6 Comments

Filed under Thoughts for Friday

6 responses to “Thoughts for Friday – 17th January 2014

  1. I think writing gives you the freedom as well as space. It’s gives you the slate as well as the sky.Best wishes. 🙂

  2. So well said, Gaurab. Thank you!

    Heather xxx

  3. Good for you. Don’t give up.
    Blessings =)
    Staci

  4. Hi Staci,

    Thank you so much for reading and commenting. Seventeen days in and I’m still going strong with the writing challenge 🙂

    Heather xxx

  5. I love David Sedaris. My favorite book of his is Me Speak Pretty One Day which is a hilarious collection of essays about learning to speak french and moving overseas.

Leave a Reply

