The Lighthouse Award

the-lighthouse-award1

My sincere thanks go to Kate Loveton at ‘Odyssey of a Novice Writer’ for nominating me for the ‘Lighthouse Award’! Kate has an absolutely fantastic blog full of wonderful posts documenting her journey towards becoming a published author in her own right. For those who have not already found her blog, click here to be transported to somewhere fantastic – I promise that you won’t regret it!

I now have to follow the required rules for accepting this award nomination which are as follows:

• Display the Award Certificate on your blog.
• Write a post and link back to the blogger that nominated you.
• Inform your nominees of their award nominations.
• Share three ways that you like to help others.
• Nominate as many bloggers as you like.
• Have fun!

As is traditional, I would like to pass the award on to the following fantastic blogs that I think are deserving of a little extra recognition:

I could nominate dozens more blogs but then that would make this a very long blog post, so I shall leave it as five. Please know that, even if I didn’t nominate your blog, the fact that I am following you means that I love your work. If those nominated wish to pass up on the award that is totally fine, there’s no mandatory participation required! 🙂

I now have to state three ways in which I help other people. Bare with me, this one may be a toughy….

  1. When I first started writing (approx 18 months ago), a couple of more experienced writers took me under their wing. These people kindly and constructively pointed out a few technical areas that needed a little work and helped me to iron out the creases in my prose, helping me to become a better writer. I very much live by the mantra of ‘paying it forward’ and so I do my best to be supportive and welcoming of the new bloggers, writers, etc. that I come across. Even if it is a quick ‘hello’ or acknowledgement of their blog or their work, I think small things such as these go a long way to making folks feel more welcomed and accepted. It’s a harsh old world out there, especially in the writing game!
  2. I hold doors open and let those more needy take my seat on the train/bus/underground. I have been brought up to be respectful of others, being polite, gracious, and helpful where at all possible. Sometimes it only takes a smile to a stranger to make their day. I once gave up my seat on the tube in London to a heavily pregnant lady because no one else would, she thanked me continuously until I got off at my stop yet looked at me as if I had three heads. I find it sad that folks are shocked when a stranger attempts to do a kind deed for them. Holding doors, giving up seats and generally just being polite to people should be the norm rather than the exception to the rule.
  3. Old ladies take advantage of my height when I’m shopping in supermarkets and often ask me to pass them items from the top shelf (no, not those kinds of items!). I have an elderly next door neighbor who often asks me to come round to complete odd jobs for her (such as re-tuning her TV, putting her Christmas tree and decorations up, watering her garden when she’s away, collecting her mail…..you get the point!). I’m a sucker for an old girl and would rather spend time with aging folk who might not otherwise have anyone to talk to or spend time with. Plus, some of the older folks I know can tell stories that would make even the most worldly of people’s eyes bulge! 😯

I hope my three examples have not given you the impression that I’m the second coming of Mother Teresa, I can assure you that I can be a cantankerous and rather grumpy so-and-so at times. I am certainly not perfect and would never profess to be, but I do try to treat others as I would like to be treated myself.

I rather feel that this acceptance post has turned into a preachy sermon. My apologies if it has, I blame Kate Loveton for nominating me! 😆

13 Comments

Filed under Starting out

13 responses to “The Lighthouse Award

  1. Thank you so much for the nomination! Will put a smile on my face all day 🙂
    Your karma must be excellent by doing all those things for others!

    • You’re very welcome re the award nomination, it was my pleasure.

      I hope the karma count is leaning toward the positive, I’m no paragon of virtue but I do try to be kind and helpful to others 🙂

  2. Hi Heather. Thank you so much for the nomination. I am truly honored. And congratulations to you as well.
    =)

  3. I can easily imagine you doing all the things you’ve described because you are one of the kindest people I know. What saves you from being unbearable in your wonderfulness is your wicked and amusing sense of humor – which I assure everyone is very UN-Mother Teresa-like!

    🙂

  4. I have nominated you for the Liebster award if you’d like to participate http://daydreaminginwords.wordpress.com/2014/03/08/liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

