Thoughts for Friday – 28th March 2014

www.pinterest.com_2

This week’s quote comes from John Green, a man who perhaps is most well-known for his recent New York Times Bestseller, ‘The Fault In Our Stars’ – a book that I loved, by the way…

John Green is an author who first came to public awareness in 2005 through his first novel, ‘Looking for Alaska’, and furthered his reputation with his YouTube video project, ‘Brotherhood 2.0’, but it is Green’s most recent novel that has allowed him to achieve widespread recognition.

While deciding which quote I would use for this week’s ‘Friday’ edition, the thought struck me of how true these words are for me. I am one of those writers who simply has to work alone and in silence. I cannot abide any distractions when I am in the ‘zone’. If I hear even the slightest of sounds, I find my concentration waning considerably.

Some people (who let’s face it, are probably not writers themselves) think the fact that I take myself away to somewhere quiet and peaceful is quite an antisocial thing to do. Some members of my family cannot understand why I would rather sit at home and write rather than go out and socialize.

The simple answer to that question would be that I’m not really much of a social person in the first place. I’m the kind of person who is painfully shy, the type of person that hates being the centre of attention or having the eyes of the room on them. I am not confident when it comes to my appearance or when it comes to articulating how I feel to another person.

For all my inherent shyness when in the company of others, I feel that creative writing is where I come alive. When I sit in front of my computer, I do not find myself weighed down by the burden of misgivings when it comes to my image. No one can see me behind a computer screen and therefore I feel less as if I am being judged on sight alone.

Creating a story allows me to free myself from my daily worries and concerns, it allows me the room to breathe and flourish in a world of my own making, to be the master of my own destiny. When I write, I am the person that I want to be, the person that I want the rest of the world to see.

I have so many stories to tell, more than I could ever possibly write in one lifetime, yet I know that I would not be able to stand up and speak them to the world. I would find myself crippled by doubt and anxiety – to the point that I would most likely fold in on myself and dissolve into a pool of my own tears.

I am an introvert, it would be impossible to deny it to myself or to my readers. But I am also a writer and therefore a story-teller – just one with an inability to look you in the eye while doing so. Yet the beauty of writing is the fact that I don’t need to look you in the eye to tell you my story. It is through reading that you are brought closer to the author; instead of looking into their eyes as the story unfolds you are seeing it through their eyes. What better way to enjoy a story than that?

15 Comments

Filed under Thoughts for Friday

15 responses to “Thoughts for Friday – 28th March 2014

  1. Great post. This quote resonates with me as well. Embrace the introvertism!

  2. A very sensitively written post.

    I’m somewhere in the middle between introvert and extrovert: I like my alone time, but need to recharge my batteries by being with others. I also listen to jazz instrumentals when I write – thank God for Sirius Radio. 🙂

    • Thanks for your wonderful comments, Kate. I have to admit that I couldn’t write with any background noise such as the tv or radio but strangely enough I have managed to write in a busy coffee shop – which was actually quieter than my home at the time!

      • Well, Heather – That’s because there was COFFEE there! You’re willing to sacrifice complete silence to enjoy a good cup of coffee while you write. What’s a little background noise when you get a whiff of that heavenly brew sitting next to your laptop? Here’s a quote I came across that reminded me of you – ‘Behind every successful woman is a substantial amount of coffee.’

      • Oh, Kate, I can so relate to that quote!

        Writing in a coffee shop was actually more productive than I thought it would be and I was surprised at how easily I managed to block out the background noise. Of course, the smell of freshly-brewed coffee permeating my senses didn’t hurt either…. 🙂

  3. I am like you, I need quiet to write. I’m not much a social person either, so writing alone wasn’t hard for me, and I tend to ignore those who think it’s antisocial 😀

    • Those who think it anti-social are obviously not writers! 😆

      I can’t write if someone is trying to talk to me and so those close to me know to leave me be and give me peace and quiet when I am trying to write. I need the solitude in order to be creative and I think writing is often the art form most commonly associated with introverted people. We tend to be able to convey more in the written word than the spoken. I know that I find it much easier to put myself ‘out there’ through writing than I ever could by talking out loud.

  4. Yay for John Green quotes! He’s definitely got a lot of great things to say 🙂

  5. I’m an official interovert extrovert, actually. 🙂 I enjoyed this post!

  6. Gerat post Heather. Thank you for sharing a little about yourself too. The world is full of people. Imagine if we were all extroverts. Or all introverts. What a boring place it would be eh. I have heard it said before that introverts are more energized in being alone and extroverts are more energized in being with others. In saying this, I used to consider myself an extreme extrovert. But as time has passed, along with finding myself and maturing, I would have to say that I am as Audrey said, “an introvert extrovert’. I love being alone and I also enjoy being with others. However, I find I do my best work alone. Not much of a team worker. Also, I much prefer social functions with just a few friends or family, with good conversation and fun times, rather than bigger parties or events full of people.
    Blessings 🙂

    • Thanks for your wonderful comments, Staci 🙂

      I tend to be pretty introverted most of the time and am not good at social functions etc. I find myself crippled by the fear of not feeling as if I am good enough.

      The great thing about writing is its ability to reach people you’ve never even met. It’s the perfect way for an introvert to get their voice heard.

Leave a Reply

