What’s a girl to do when she has the flu?

sick_in_bed_sfw

I’ll admit that this hasn’t been the easiest of weeks for me and I apologise now for the fact that I’ve hardly been much of a visible presence on my own blog, let alone the blogs of others. The truth is that I have not been feeling well since last Saturday (April 5th) and I am fairly sure that I have succumbed to some sort of virus.

It all started rather innocently when I ventured to my local McDonalds to grab myself a takeaway coffee in order to fortify myself for the long day of work ahead. Crawling into the restaurant at the crack of dawn bleary-eyed, things were going swimmingly until I walked to the counter and placed my order. It was only then that a scruffy, smelly and rather rude builder-type man decided to turn around and cough directly in my face.

Had it not been for the fact that I had been forced to take a longer than usual route to get to said restaurant and that I was craving a caffeine fix like a crack addict craves heroin, I would likely have given the uncouth chap a piece of my mind.

Alas, the scruffy ape and his builder chums had exited the restaurant before I’d finished being served and my chance to give them a fearful tongue-lashing had evaporated. Although angered by the man’s complete lack of manners, I didn’t really think much more of it until later that day.

By early evening I began to feel slightly lethargic but put it down to the fact that I’d had a busy week and was probably tired. I read a little, had a beer, then a relatively early night, believing that to be the answer to my health woes.

By Sunday morning I felt as if I had been sat on by a hippo and been forced to spend the whole night awake as it cheerfully danced the Macarena on my tired and aching body. Like the trooper I am, I forced my carcass in front of the computer and set about getting in my daily word count before dragging myself to work for a nightshift.

It was obvious by the time I’d got there that I was in no fit state to be working, yet there was no one available to cover for me and the work I do is vital to vulnerable people. I had no choice but to stay there, keening and suffering throughout the afternoon and early evening.

By this point I was almost on the verge of tears but somehow managed to make it through the night. It might have been slightly more bearable had it not been for the fact that I had to work through until 3 pm the next day. Quite how I managed this task, I am not sure, but manage it I did before somehow driving myself home (this is where my memory gets slightly hazy) and crawling into bed.

More chills, fevers, headaches and general feelings of crappiness have continued to pervade my weakened body and immune system and so it is with much regret that I have to inform you that there will be no ‘Thoughts for Friday’ this week. I suppose that this post in itself could be considered sage advice in the fact that I should have used the ‘Drive Thru’ option at McDonalds. By being lazy and staying in my car, I would have avoided being infected with the germs of a manner-less lout, got my caffeine fix and remained fit and healthy this week.

Alas, it was not to be. The road to recovery has been a long one and I am still not exactly feeling 100% even now. I am aiming to return to blogging either today or early next week so please bear with me while I catch up on comments etc. and new posts from all of the lovely bloggers I follow. When I come visiting, I promise not to cough/sneeze/sniffle in your general direction….

20 Comments

Filed under Starting out, Thoughts for Friday

20 responses to “What’s a girl to do when she has the flu?

  1. Oh dear, Heather. I do hope you feel better soon. I manage to avoid your problem by a combination of two things: first being that the nearest McDonalds is 40 minutes away by car, the second being this

    • Thanks, Keith, your comment brought a smile to my face!

      I have a little machine like the one on the right of your picture but the only trouble is that it is at home and I was at work at the time I became infected with the virus. I’d worked a night shift and had stumbled to the nearest place selling fresh coffee (which just happened to be a McDonalds). I knew going in fast food joints would be bad for my health…. 😆

  2. Poor thing! I hope you feel better soon!

    • Thank you! Recovery is painfully slow at the moment and I am having a lot of issues with my energy levels. I am not a good patient at the best of times so enforced periods of rest are not making me much of a happy camper at the moment 😦

  3. Aw, sorry you’ve been under the weather, wishing you better

  4. SarahClare

    Oh man, I feel you on that front- So many times I’ve felt like death, but there’s been no one to cover my shift. And it’s not so much of a big deal in some areas of work.. but when you work with people.. you gotta haul your ass into work!

    Anyways! I hope you feel better soon. Sometimes I think a sick day would be nice for a chance to rest! (although I would never wish sickness on myself!) but then when it becomes a reality, all the things you thought you would do, you can’t. Reading, writing, even catching up on the telly you’ve missed. Nope. Sleep is the only option, LOL.

    Take care! 🙂

    • I think I’ve slept more in the last ten days than I have in the last two or three months. This bug has really hit me for six and left me feeling very drained, to the point where the only thing I can do is lay down and rest.

      I agree that in some jobs you are able to get away with going home halfway through a shift, but when you work with vulnerable people and there is no one there to cover for you, you’re pretty much stuck there!

      I did consider taking a sick day a number of times since I’ve come down with the the virus, but my working pattern has been quite favourable and meant that I’ve been able to get a decent amount of rest in between shifts.

      I’m getting back to full strength, albeit very slowly….

  5. Hope you are soon feeling better, Heather! xxx

  6. I’m so sorry you are ill! I hope you feel better soon!

  7. Ohhhhh Heather. I’m so sorry to hear about you being down in the dumps. I must say though, this post is very well written. Kudos to you.
    Well, I hope you get better soon. I was actually thinking about you and wondering where you had gone. Now I know.
    🙂

    • Thanks Staci 🙂

      This virus really has been the pits and I felt bad for not being much of an active blogger recently. The truth is that the flu laid me low for a number of days and I wanted folks to know that I hadn’t just suddenly stopped blogging!

      I am attempting to get caught up with all my favourite blogs over the next few days. I’ve missed rather a lot so it’s going to take me a little while to get up to speed…. 🙂

  8. I hope you’re fully over it!

Leave a Reply

