How to spend a lot of time (and money) not achieving very much….

Okay, so it’s been just under a week since I put the deposit down on my new home and what have I achieved so far? Well, not a lot it would seem.

My credit checks and references came through just fine and I had my moving date confirmed just a day after I went to the real estate agent and paid my deposit. I was busy with work the next couple of days which meant that I couldn’t really do that much in regard to my new home at that time.

“I’ll do it on Saturday,” I thought, like the bright spark I am, not realising that most of the companies I would need to ring to arrange certain elements were already closed for the bank holiday weekend and would not be open again until Tuesday 6th.

Because we don't like working our weekends...

Because we don’t like working weekends…

Well, I don't like working weekends either!

Well, I don’t like working weekends either!

Angered, and more than a little disappointed, I did what I could on Saturday including the following:

• Transferred enough money from a savings account to cover the expenditure of my move.
• Arranged and bought a TV license for my new home.
• Cancelled unnecessary direct debits and set up new ones

But that still leaves me with quite a bit to do. I still need to ring my phone line and broadband supplier to switch my account from one address to the other, arrange insurance etc.

I was surprised to find that I would need to take out my own insurance on my new place, mainly because the landlord also had insurance for the property, but I was advised that it was necessary for my contents and to cover me for any accidental damage to my flat while I live there.

Unfortunately, the insurance people are one of the companies that is now not open again until Tuesday which means I’ll have to put it off until then, although I am reassured by the thought that my flat will most likely be better insured than Beyonce’s buttocks by the time all the premiums both I as a tenant and my landlord himself will have to pay…..

Men, you can thank me later...

Men, you can thank me later…

I’ve also been begging, borrowing, and more often than not, stealing empty boxes and collecting old newspapers in preparation of collecting all of my belongings together for the move. I’ll mainly be taking old crockery and cutlery to begin with and gradually replace these when I have settled in my new place and my bank account has recovered from the near-fatal shock of all of my current moving expenditures.

I really need to take a look at my huge library of DVDs and books and decide on which ones I want to keep and which ones can be sold on or donated to charity shops. I won’t have as much space as I do in my current home which means that I can only take things that I really want to keep hold of. Unfortunately, I am worse than a homeless bag lady when it comes to throwing things away and I simply cannot bear the thought of parting with anything – case in point: I even keep old bubble-wrap and odd squares of wrapping paper in case I need them in the future….

Bag lady

I probably have more clothes than Naomi Campbell in at the height of catwalk season, so that needs to be addressed as well. I need to have a thorough sort out of what I need to keep and what should really be donated to charity. I have at least half a wardrobe of clothes that no longer fit me (they are too big, before you ask!) I need to sort those into piles of what to keep and what to get rid of.

I have a rough idea of the furniture that I’ll take with me i.e. my bed, sofa, computer desk, coffee table, bedside cabinet etc. I’ve arranged for a family friend to help transport these larger pieces a couple of days after my moving date (he wasn’t free until the weekend and being the cheapskate I am, I didn’t want to pay for a removals firm to help me).

On Monday 5th, I ordered my white goods and organised for them to be delivered on my moving date so that everything is ready for when my furniture is moved in on Saturday 17th and I will (hopefully) be good to go.I went to my local white goods outlet with a pretty firm idea of what I wanted (i.e. cheap and small); it took me less than ten minutes to locate the items that I wanted and so that left me with onerous task of flagging down a member of the shop staff to assist me in buying said items.

I’m sure we’ve all been there before, stood in the middle of a busy store, attempting to look as if you’re a serious paying customer and not just looking at fridge freezers, cookers and tumble dryers for the sake of wasting a bank holiday afternoon. I spent the next fifteen minutes or so waving my arms each time a member of the shop staff appeared to move their head in my direction. Honestly, all I needed was a couple of those weird little flag thingies and I reckon I could have quite easily landed a plane on a runway with all of that arm waving.

A bored-looking middle-aged man wandered over to me (he was a member of the shop staff before you ask, not some random middle-aged man whose eye I caught across a busy electrical store). Honestly, the man couldn’t have looked more disinterested if he’d tried. I mean, for God sake, I’m spending a fair whack of money in your store, the least you could do is look happy about it!

Okay, so he didn't look exactly like this, but I was hardly going to stop and ask to take his photo was I?

Okay, so he didn’t look exactly like this, but I was hardly going to stop and ask to take his photo was I?

About twenty minutes after arguing over the fact that I didn’t want to take out a warranty on my just-purchased goods, I eventually walked from the store triumphant, if with a severely damaged credit card balance to show for it. But hey, I’ve bought my white goods and arranged for them to be delivered on my moving day!

You'd be surprised at how often and quickly this actually happens

You’d be surprised at how often and quickly this actually happens…

Next on my list is to arrange that damn insurance and begin buying some of the smaller items on my list. It’s a case of ‘so far, so good’ but I am well aware that the best laid plans of mice and men, and all that…..

I’d like to think that I’ve approached the move with diligence and preparation but I am well aware that it could all fall apart in an instant and go horribly wrong. Here’s hoping that doesn’t happen…..

16 Comments

Filed under Silly Stuff

16 responses to “How to spend a lot of time (and money) not achieving very much….

  1. Looks to me like you are pretty well organised and on top of things. We’ve moved four times since 1990, the last being the move here in 2006, and we recognise just about everything you are talking about. We survived them all. I still believe we lost one box in the last move; there are several things, including a few albums signed by the performers (remember The Bachelors? Faraway Folk?) and some rather nice crockery.

    • Hi Keith,

      I have to admit that I have no idea who The Bachelors or Faraway Folk are (a little before my time I presume)

      Who would have thought moving home could be so stressful or expensive! 🙂

  2. You need to clear out the clothes, Sister!!

    So excited for you!! xxx

  3. Good luck with the move and this process, don’t forget to enjoy when you can, it’s an exciting time as well as an overwhelming one! 🙂

  4. What a hugely amusing post! Your travails made me laugh – but only with sympathy, I assure you. In your packing frenzy, don’t forget the fancy red coffee machine! Better to forget the bed, don’t you think? After all, as a writer, you probably spend more time with that coffee machine than sleeping in that bed. 🙂

    It will all come together soon – just a lot of work to make it happen. But seriously? What else do you have to do with your time? um… write? Oh yeah… there is that! But I’m sure you’ll definitely squeeze that in and, hopefully, continue to keep us updated.

    I’m enjoying your journey. ❤

    PS – that credit card must have been smoking from use; I think I glimpsed a smoke cloud even here, all the way across the ocean!

    • Hi Kate!

      I am so glad that you enjoyed my humorous little take on the stresses and strains of moving home. I can assure you that I will DEFINITELY NOT forget the most important item to take with me: THE SHINY RED COFFEE MACHINE! After all, who needs a bed or furniture, eh? 🙄

      In between packing, arranging utilities, insurance etc. I am finding it pretty tough to squeeze in any writing but I have only missed a day or two so far, which is pretty good going, I think. Once I’m settled in my new place I’ll have oodles of peace and quiet in which to get my writing done….

      I promise that I will keep you all updated on how things are going. I have another related post in the works (just need to find the time to finish it!)

      Have you ever seen ‘Planes, Trains and Automobiles’? My whole purse looked like Steve Martin’s wallet when he pulled it out to pay for his motel room, such was the pounding my bank balances took on Monday….

  5. Moving is stressful but you will be excited when it’s all done with. I can’t believe you’re even contemplating getting rid of some of your books, mine are coming with me no matter what! Good luck with everything 🙂

    • I wish I could keep all of my books, but then there would be no room for me 😦

      Saying that, I could build a bed out of books, I suppose!

      I cannot wait to move into my new home, it’s gonna be a great adventure for me. Thanks for the good wishes 😆

  6. All I can say is that I’m happy I’m not in your shoes. I don’t like moving. Especially now that I have kids. However, it is exciting getting new things and finally being able to do up your own place. Now that is very exciting.
    I’m with you on having difficulty getting rid of things. I already have a tough time making decisions, but decisions about no longer having my stuff – soooo difficult.
    Have fun Heather.
    🙂

    • Thanks Staci!

      It is an exciting time, but it has also come with its own unique set of stresses too. It’s also been pretty expensive!

      I really do need to sort out what I should keep and that which I should throw away but I am the kind of person who will need something the day after throwing it out…. 🙄

Leave a Reply

