Thoughts for Friday – 30th May 2014

Judging by the quotes I’ve chosen over the last few weeks, I’m considering changing the name of this series to ‘Therapy for Friday’ πŸ™‚

Maybe it’s because so many major changes have occurred in my life recently that I feel compelled to choose quotes that force me to open up and give voice to some of the tough times I’ve faced in my life so far. My childhood was far from easy and I learned at a young age that life would often chew you up, spit you out and then stamp on what was left of you just for good measure.

Being a product of a troubled childhood results in two major groups: those who survive and those who allow the darkness of their past to consume them. It’s much easier to give up and blame the lack of progress in your life on the fact that you had a crappy time as a child, and for some people that’s enough to get them through the day.

Not me, though.

In order to survive, you need to learn to take the punches – both the literal and metaphorical ones – as they come. Sometimes you might stumble and fall, but you get back up. Repeatedly.

Why?

Because you have no other choice.

Writing, as in life, is often hard work and you need to be strong enough to take the criticisms and rejections that will come your way, using them to spur you on rather than beating you down. You need the inner steel and determination to carry on, even when the road seems long and hard. Maybe that’s why so many writers come from backgrounds that aren’t all that happy. After all, who would willingly subject themselves to the criticisms of not only their inner demons, but people out there in the world itself?

While there is something slightly perverse about willingly risking your heart with your writing, there is also something wonderfully liberating about it too.

 

15 Comments

Filed under Thoughts for Friday

15 responses to “Thoughts for Friday – 30th May 2014

  1. The bigger the risk, the bigger the reward, right? πŸ˜€ (I’m really hoping this is true!).

  2. I nominated you for the Inspiring Blogger Award on my Facebook page at 3pm: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorShannonAThompson πŸ˜€
    ~SAT

    • Thank you Shannon! ❀

      I am honoured to accept the nomination, it might take me a little while to put a post together and pass it on, but I can assure you that I will πŸ™‚

  3. It is worth it, Heather, putting yourself out there with every word and idea. I’ve worked at a newspaper or online site or both for 39 years, counting my college days, and continue to take a deep breath and put stories out there daily. Hard work, tough work, harder and tougher some days than others, but rewarding when you think that you can touch lives when people read your words. And when I read your blog, I can sense this stirring in you.

  4. Good post! No wonder you were nominated for the Inspiring Blogger award – you deserve it for this post alone! And while I’m not very keen on ‘therapy’ posts (don’t make that name change! πŸ™‚ ), I am very keen on wonderful posts like this which are both instructive and inspirational. You never whine, Heather, but move forward resolutely and courageously. I like that – almost as much as I like you!

    Well done! 3>

    • Awww, Kate, you’re too kind! ❀

      I promise not to change the title of the series to 'Therapy for Fridays', perhaps I should call it inspirational and instructive thoughts for Friday, but that might not be all that catchy….. πŸ™‚

      I hope that I don't reveal too much of myself (in an emotional sense, not physical….obviously!), I try not to come across as 'woe is me' but rather more like an example of how you can't let your past get you down. Who you are now is what really matters.

  5. You know Heather, I think that writing, and any form of art actually, can really be used as a form of therapy. And you are so right about the need to not give up and to continue on. Life is difficult, and it will always be throwing you punches. What makes the difference is the attitude one has towards them. I love your tenacious spirit Heather. I’m all for tenacity. I even wrote a poem and about Tenacity before and posted it here. Then again, I think you already know that.
    πŸ™‚

    • Hi Staci,

      Thank you for saying such kind things, I really do appreciate them ❀

      I think there are many times when others have tried to break my spirit and it has been the one thing that I've tried to never relinquish my hold on. People who should have loved me can wound me with their words, harm me with their hands, but they'll never break my spirit and in the end, that's what we truly are as human beings. Our body is just the vehicle in which we travel, but it is the heart, mind and spirit that control our journey and ultimate destination.

      I promise to catch up with your blog soon, Staci. Work has been keeping me super busy and the line of work I'm in is 24-7, 365 days of the year. I love your blog (and you!) πŸ™‚

      • Ohhhhh, you make my heart smile Heather. I’m so glad we met. No worries about catching up. You take all the time you need. I totally understand being busy. I feel like I’m constantly busy. Modern times I guess. πŸ™‚
        I totally agree with you about the body being a vehicle. I like to say that’s it’s just simply my tent. I live inside of it.
        You are more than welcome my friend.
        love you too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

