Biting the Bullet

Ok, I’ve finally done it. I’ve gone and submitted one of my short stories to a writing magazine here in the UK. As well as paying the competition entry fee, there was also an option for a critique of my work for a further small payment.

The piece that I submitted is something that I feel has merit and shows my strengths (whatever they may be) as a writer and regardless of whether my submission places in the competition, I believe that it will give me a good idea of what to expect when entering other competitions.

The closing date for the competition is August 15th and so I won’t hear back until after that date. All I can do is sit back nervously and hope that piece can hold its own against what is likely to be some very strong competition.

I shall keep you all updated as to my submission’s progress (unless it gets absolutely slaughtered by the judges, of course….)

I’d appreciate it if you could keep all fingers, toes, etc. crossed for me, even though that might make it quite hard to type, or walk for that matter…..

Hell, perhaps it’s just better if I ask you to pray for me instead!

cat

If you have a cat, please ask it to cross its paws for me too….

26 Comments

Filed under Starting out

26 responses to “Biting the Bullet

  1. Yup. Fingers crossed for you. I’m trying to summon up the courage to do something similar, but no joy so far.
    I’ve seen some of your stuff – you must be in with a fighting chance of glory (and money?).

    • Thanks, Keith!

      Yes, there is a cash prize for the story of the month but I don’t think I’ll get anywhere near winning it. I am interested to hear what the judges thought of the piece though and whether they have any advice for where I could improve etc.

      Submitting a piece to a magazine is daunting stuff but I’d encourage you to do it for the experience if nothing else πŸ™‚

  2. Congrats on doing it! πŸ˜€ How exciting. Keeping everything crossed for you, though I’m sure you won’t need it πŸ™‚

  3. Congratulations on your bravery and good luck!

  4. Every month i buy Writing Magazine from Sainsbury’s and go straight to the competition section. Every month i wimp out of trying to write anything for them.

    Yay you for submitting! I shall keep my hair plaited always (except when washing it) as a good luck charm thing…

  5. Good luck, my friend! ❀ Hopefully your example will light a fire under me! πŸ˜€

  6. You’ll do great! And I admire you for getting this far! What you’ve done is very difficult! And Phoebe (the cat) is crossing her paws and eyes (she’s Siamese) for you! TiV

  7. Best of luck! It’s always terrifying to send your written baby off, but it’s such a huge step that you can now say you’ve taken!

    • Thank you ❀

      I am indeed terrified of the response that my piece will get when it is placed before the judges, I only hope that they do not tear it apart completely.

      Now that I've submitted something to a magazine I may have to change the name of my blog to, 'The Trials of a Nearly-Published Writer.' πŸ™‚

  8. I’ll ask both my kitties to cross their paws πŸ™‚

  9. Good for you for having the courage! I found entering my first short story competition was a rite of a passage (I entered 3 at the same time). Although I got nowhere, and even though I haven’t entered any since, it was the moment I threw off my metaphorical clothes and launched my metaphorical naked self into the path of (hopefully fully clothed) readers! I don’t think I would have started blogging, nor would I have self published my ebook without that first step.
    Here’s hoping and keeping everything crossed that you get nothing but encouragement from your venture πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much for the words of encouragement! πŸ™‚ I agree that submitting a piece to a magazine is akin to taking all of your clothes off and running around a room full of people (none of whom are in their birthday suits).

      I guess it’s just a case of waiting and wishing now, and it’s the not knowing that’s getting to me at the moment! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

