All I Need Is You

It had been a great night as I finally met up with the man I’d been talking to online for months. It was even better that he hadn’t turned out to be some sort of creepy letch either.

We’d met by chance on an internet forum, finding that we shared a lot of the same interests and passions. We progressed from instant messages, to emails and then flirty texts.

Last night had been the first time that I’d met him in the flesh. To say that I’d been nervous beforehand would have been an understatement.

I needn’t have worried. My date turned out to be just as charming and handsome as I’d imagined him to be from his profile picture. There was nothing weird or socially inept about him. He was funny and engaging, and it didn’t hurt that he only had eyes for me.

We ate, drank, and laughed throughout the evening, finishing a wonderful date with a chaste kiss and a promise to meet again soon.

When I slept, I dreamed of him. I was already planning what we’d do on our next date. Although I was no fool and certainly didn’t believe in love at first sight, I knew I was smitten with him.

I woke this morning to find his text message:

Hey beautiful, had a great time last night. Let’s do it again soon x

Was he thinking about me as much as I was about him?

As I showered and dressed I thought about him and how it would be so good to have him undressing me, in my shower….

I had to stop those kinds of thoughts if I wanted to get to work on time!

Grabbing a travel mug of coffee, I got in my car and started the long commute to my office. It was a good job that I knew the route as well as I did as I don’t think I paid attention to where I was going the whole time I was in the car.

This man was consuming my every waking thought. I must have been imagining it when I saw his lean figure walking in my direction. I was still in the car, a mere 500 yards from my office. He must have recognised me to as he stopped and waved.

I pulled over.

“Hi,” he said, giving me his gorgeous smile.

“Hi.”

“Going to work?” he asked.

I shook my head. “Get in.”

“Where are we going?”

“I don’t care, as long as I’m with you,” I replied.

cute-couple-car-holding-hands-lovers-love_largeHe smiled and got in, buckling his seat belt as I leaned over to kiss him before pulling the car from the curb.

“You’ll be late for work,” he told me, gently chiding me for my impetuousness yet eager to be as impulsive as I was.

“No work. Not today.”

Work, money, bills – none of that seemed to matter when you were in love.

We drove and never looked back.


Written in response to Thain in Vain’s Week 40 prompt: While driving to work one morning, you decide to drive past the office and keep on driving.

 

21 Comments

Filed under Flash Fiction 52 Challenge

21 responses to “All I Need Is You

  1. What a jolly nice story, and an excellent treatment of the prompt.

  2. Okay, I thought you were telling something that actually happened! It’s funny because I was so happy for you and then thought: wow! He was just walking by? What are the chances! Then I worried when you skipped work! What an excellent piece! Great writing!

  3. Aw, a sweet romantic tale, Ms. Heather, and a wonderful take on the prompt! ❤ Thoroughly enjoyed this.

  4. What a really lovely story 🙂

  5. Nothing like love at the start! Great take on the prompt! TiV

  6. Pingback: Flash Fiction Challenge – Week 40 Submissions | Thain in Vain

  7. Aww. This was an adorable read, Heather. I was secretly hoping this happened to you this week…maybe it will. 🙂

  8. I really your take on the prompt! Great job. How did you think of this one?

  9. Oh my goodness Heather, I really thought this was you sharing your own experience. I didn’t realize until half way through that it wasn’t personal. When I got to the part about him undressing you in the shower I started to think, “Wait a sec. Is she really sharing this extremely personal detail?” That’s when I peered toward the bottom of the post and saw it was the response to a prompt.
    Hehehehehe. Good job Heather.
    🙂

  10. Pingback: Lonely Hearts | Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Leave a Reply

