It’s my birthday!

42950Ok, so technically it isn’t actually my birthday (it was in October and I kept very quiet about it), but November 1st was the day that my blog turned the grand old age of 1.

Much like a one year old child, the last twelve months has seen me throw my toys out of the pram, vomit everywhere, and cry myself into an exhausted sleep. I have documented much of this on my blog (though I left the bits out about pooping in my nappy…)

In your first year of life you start to learn to walk, cut your first teeth and perhaps learn to say a word that doesn’t sound like ‘gaaah’. I think there are many similarities between blogging and babies, in that we both learn as we go along and our failures and successes have usually been witnessed by other people.

I have gone back to the first days of my blog and cringed at some of the things I posted this time last year. I must have sounded so earnest in my meandering musings about what it means to become a ‘real’ writer. At first, I valued quantity over quality and this probably showed in a number of my early posts. I have now found my groove, so to speak, and aim to publish two posts a week: a flash fiction attempt and my regular Thoughts for Friday column.

My Thoughts posts have also evolved over the past year and have ranged from thoughts on writing, some self-therapy and realisation, moving home, and now just general musings on whatever has stuck in my mind recently.

There are also my attempts at flash fiction which one would hope have improved since I first began writing them. There are also a number of standalone essays that I’ve written on a number of topics, ranging from moving home to balls, rods and anything else remotely smut-based that I can think of.

Perhaps the most pleasing thing for me has been the growth of my blog from a rather rough and ready beginning to a site that now has 499 followers. I never assumed that, this time last year, my blog would have quite as many followers as it does.

begging-dog-500x330As is traditional with birthdays, I would like to make one wish: would some poor soul follow me (who doesn’t already) so that I can reach the magic 500 followers?

Thank you to everyone who has ‘liked’, commented or reblogged any of my posts and the 499 awesome people who have followed my site. The 500th person to follow my blog will have my undying gratitude because, well, I ain’t too proud to beg! πŸ™‚

23 Comments

Filed under Silly Stuff

23 responses to “It’s my birthday!

  1. You’re not getting older, you’re getting better Heather B. Your blog, of course! I hope No. 500 hops in quick. You deserve it. Keep musing and making things up in a flash, my friend. On to BD No. 2 and F No. 1,000 …

    • Thanks Mark, I love you! ❀

      Follower 500 arrived in my inbox yesterday and I was over the moon to finally reach that target. It's been slow and steady progress over the last twelve months in terms of followers and the quality of blogging output and I would like to think that they both go hand in hand.

      I would never have thought that, twelve months ago, anyone would be interested in what I wrote and so it's been a wonderful surprise to realise that so many people have expressed an interest in my work.

      Here's hoping for another 500 followers in the next twelve months! πŸ™‚

  2. Happy Birthday, Heather! Happy Blogging Birthday, as well. I’ve enjoyed watching your growth as a writer this year. I hope you achieved 500, BTW!!

  3. Happy Blogday, mine is the 11th of November and I have you to thank I believe for my blogging. It started with a quote that you posted last Nov. Blessings Joy

    • Thank you, my friend! ❀

      It's amazing how quickly a year flies by isn't it? I am honoured that one of my posts inspired you to create your own blog, I don't think one could receive a higher compliment than that.

      Here's to more blogging years ahead of us! πŸ™‚

  4. Happy belated birthday, and happy blogiversary! πŸ˜€ I hope you have another great year of blogging and no. 500 comes soon!

  5. Happy belated blogging birthday! Here’s to the next 12 months πŸ™‚ I’ve enjoyed reading your posts very much, Heather

  6. Happy b-day, Heather! I can relate to your article. I’ve been in business for just over a year and my earlier posts were all over the map! I’ve also enjoyed having you as part of the #FFC52! You always bring interesting, thoughtful, funny, well written stories to the party!! For this, I say thank you!! Looking forward to writing with you in 2015! TIV

    • Thanks! ❀

      I've had a lot of fun taking part in the FFC52 challenge this year and it has really helped me to improve as a writer. It's been great to use the weekly prompts to come up with different styles and genres, some of which I wouldn't normally write. It's also been a surprise to realise just how fruity my sense of humour is at times. I think some of the flash fics I've written would make a nun blush! πŸ˜†

  7. Happy birthday to you… Happy birthday to you… Happy birthday, dear Heather… Happy birthday to you! And, as we sing in the States, ‘and many more!’

    I remember when you first set out to begin your blogging journey – and, if you remember, it was you who inspired me to start blogging. Gosh, my birthday must be sometime this November, too! Can it really be a year? Guess so!

    I love your blog for its humor and its honesty. It has been a heck of a ride this year – and I look forward to continuing the journey with you! ❀ ❀

    • Thanks Kate! ❀

      I can't quite believe that my blog has already turned one! I do remember trying to convince you to start blogging and you took it, ran with it and never looked back. You have a wonderful blog and deservedly have thousands of followers.

      Your birthday must be coming very soon too and it will be great to celebrate the achievement with you. Here's to another twelve months blogging for the both of us! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

