Lost in Translation

Kate Loveton rather foolishly left me in charge of her blog this week and this is the end result of what happens when you let a highly-caffeinated, smut-inclined Brit loose on your unsuspecting blog readership….

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

us-uk-flag

America.

England.

Communication between natives of these two countries should be simple, we speak the same language after all.

Well, not quite it would seem.

Not that I want to get into a pissing contest about it, but us Brits spoke the language first. Americans just bastardised it for their own use.

usbritI am joking of course. My dearest and closest friend is American and I would never knowingly say anything to upset or hurt her. Confusing her with my use of the English language is another matter entirely….

Kate and I Skype every fortnight and it has become something that I very much look forward to, especially as I know that I can bemuse her with some of the colloquialisms that come out of my mouth. It’s not just the mockney-cockney rhyming slang that leaves her questioning my sanity, it’s also the way I pronounce things.

I can be…

View original post 691 more words

2 Comments

Filed under Starting out

2 responses to “Lost in Translation

  1. I loved this funny essay on the differences in English as spoken by the Brits and Americans. It made me laugh – so true, so true!

    Thanks for being my guest blogger, dear Heather! You’re the best! ❤

Leave a Reply

