Thoughts for Friday – 7th November

A few weeks ago, Kate Loveton bore witness to a rant of epic proportions.

Yes, mild-mannered (but smut-inclined) little me had the mother of all rants about…….men.

Don’t get me wrong, I do actually like men – they come in handy for a number of things….. What annoys me the most is that everything in today’s society still seems to favour the male of the species and I find that somewhat unfaith_6r.

I like beer. There you go, I’ve said it. I like big, tall pints of beer and can drink several of them in a short space of time. If I go into a bar and ask for a pint of beer, the tender will often look at me question my sexual orientation. Not only is that kind of judgement highly offensive to people who are in same-sex relationships (and let me make this clear – I have many friends who are in same-sex relationships and support them wholeheartedly) it is also offensive to judge me against a social stereotype.

Apparently, as a woman, I should order a half pint of beer or perhaps a bottle, but never, EVER a pint. Well, I live on a budget and everyone knows that the most cost-effective way to buy something is in bulk. Why should I pay 1/3 more for two half-pints of beer when I can just buy a pint and save myself some money?

Because people will look at me and begin making wild assumptions based on my choice of drink. How can it be that a man can drink a glass of wine and still be considered masculine, but a woman can not drink a pint of lager and still look feminine?

th_7As much as we like to think that society’s attitudes toward women have changed, it seems that in many ways the female of the species is still subjected to a number of double standards when it comes to what is viewed as socially acceptable. A man can pass wind in public and people will find it amusing, perhaps his friends will congratulate him on the smell/length/volume of his flatulence. A woman must never, EVER pass wind in public or even in the privacy of their own home, for that would be deemed to be extremely unladylike.

Well, I am sorry to break it to you men, but us females pretty much have the same digestive system as you do, and apart from a prostate, our back passage works much in the same way as yours does. We all eat and digest food in the same way, and flatulence is a by-product of that – so why can men get away with passing wind and women can’t?

And lets not even get started on the blatant public scratching of rear ends and genitals that men always seem to get away with. If a man scratches himself no one blinks an eye, but if a woman does the same thing then it is automatically assumed that she has some kind of STD….

There are also a number of sports that society assumes are only acceptable for men such as football (soccer to you guys in the US), rugby (the nearest comparison in the US would be American Football) or golf. It was only this year that one of Scotland’s most famous and prestigious golf courses decided that it would allow women to walk on their hallowed turf. What is it with all of this ‘guys only’ attitude that still continues to pervade society more than we might like to admit?

I could go on and on…..and on about the subject of feminism but I shall not bore you with more examples. I am sure that, given a little time to consider your own experiences, you’ll realise that we still have a way to go before we live in a society that treats women as equals. I’m not anti-men (far from it in fact!) but I am proud to be woman and one who doesn’t necessarily conform to society’s standards of what may be considered ‘feminine’.

th_5There have been a number of women throughout history who have had some pretty extreme ways of making their point and fighting for equal rights for women. I assure you that I am not going to be throwing myself under a horse any time soon, but I will continue to drink pints of beer and cheer on my favourite football team without giving a second thought to what other people might think.

As for the breaking wind in public? I think I’ll leave that to a woman far braver than I!

15 Comments

Filed under Starting out

15 responses to “Thoughts for Friday – 7th November

  1. Deb

    I would love to be the woman to break wind in public just after the male has boasted his toot. I believe I could (on some days and after certain foods) ‘toot’ him under the table! LOL!! Instead, though I shall continue to opt for the ever faithful SBD (silent but deadly).

    • My mother, at a yoga class with my father, once ‘tooted’ and blamed it on him in front of all of the other participants….. πŸ™‚

      It does annoy me that it seems socially acceptable for a man to break wind but not a woman, where’s the fairness in that?! Don’t get me started on the topic of feminism as once I get on my soapbox about it, it’s hard to stop me! πŸ™‚

  2. Folks, I assure you – this mild post was NOTHING compared to Heather’s original rant. LOL! Ah, you had to be there for THAT one!

    Even so, this was spectacular, Heather. I enjoyed it greatly – and I also got a kick out of your comment about your mother’s deviousness in Yoga Class. Loved that! πŸ˜€

  3. Adan Ramie

    Heather, I’m glad to see someone else with these same thoughts and feelings actually voicing her opinion without shame. We still have a long way to go before we are considered anything near equal with men, and the sad part is that other women are often the ones holding us back with their anti-feminist, #NotAllMen attitudes.

    I know what you mean about soapboxes. Mine is always on the ready for just such occasions, lol.

    • Perhaps we should combine soapboxes, there’d be no stopping the feminist movement then! πŸ™‚

      Even though the tone of the post was light, there was a serious undertone to it and it is true that we still have a long way to go before women are considered equal to men. I hope to see that in my lifetime though.

  4. “A man can pass wind in public and people will find it amusing, perhaps his friends will congratulate him on the smell/length/volume of his flatulence.”
    –While on the topic of what women should or shouldn’t do, let’s just get right down to it and call it a ‘FART’.
    Hahaha Heather. Yes, social norms and expectancies. Gotta love them. As you know, I live in Brazil. My hubby is totally not chauvinistic at all. But I used to get soooooooo mad with his uncle. He would make remarks about my hubby’s dad doing the dishes and all. He totally thinks that women do ‘women’s’ work and all. Ugh.
    Anyhow, I’m not a beer drinker, but I fancy myself a nice glass of red wine every so often. And here in Brazil, a lot of men think that women are the ones that drink peach wine and fruity stuff. Not me. Give me a glass of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, or a Shiraz any day and I’m a happy camper.
    πŸ™‚

    • LOL, I was trying to be polite and avoid using the word ‘fart’ Staci! πŸ˜†

      I get so mad when someone brain-dead lunk of a man makes a stupid comment about how I should be doing housework or cooking a man dinner that it takes a lot for me not to want to throttle them!

      Attitudes are changing, albeit far too slowly for my liking….

Leave a Reply

