Thoughts for Friday – 6th February 2015

men-vs-women-who-are-the-better-drivers-infographicWhy do men always think that they make better drivers than women?

If only the work colleague who drove myself and two clients to the cinema a couple of weeks ago had realised the folly in his thinking, he might not have found himself faced with a Β£50 fine for his troubles.

Despite the cinema only being a fifteen minute walk from the home, my colleague had decided that the weather was far too inclement for us to dare walking such a distance should another snow/sleet/rain shower come down (it didn’t). Once it had been decided that we were driving, we then had to find somewhere to park. Imagine my colleague’s gleeful expression when he found a space right outside the front door of the cinema.

“Excellent, right outside,” he said, rubbing his hands together as if he had just discovered a cure for cancer.

“Um, you know this is a restricted parking zone, right?” I replied, pointing to the large sign next to the car stating as much.

“It doesn’t count on a Saturday and besides, I’m parked in the white box, not on the yellow line,” he replied, taking off his seat belt.

parking-sign-600x399“The restrictions are Monday to Saturday, 8 am to 6 pm and include parking in the white boxes. We can only park here for 30 minutes. Don’t you think we should park somewhere else?”

My colleague then gave me a look that silently suggested that, as a woman, I should know never to question a man on his driving, his ability to navigate, or his choice of parking spots. I shrugged my shoulders and decided that, seeing as it was his car we had taken, it was his risk to take.

I had a jolly old time watching Into The Woods (a pretty good film but one that could have done with being about 30 minutes shorter than it actually was) all the while casting furtive glances at my colleague and wondering if the parking inspector was in town that afternoon. Two hours, a good sing-song and a stiff pair of legs later, my colleague, our clients and I left the cinema and walked the 5 or so yards back to the car.

“See, a nice easy walk back to the car,” my colleague grinned, still clearly reveling in the glory of besting a woman when it came to knowledge of the Highway Code.

park_1717912cFortunately for me, the parking ticket had been stuck on the passenger side of the window and I tore it off like a five-year old opening a Christmas present. “Um, I think you might want to read this,” I said, trying my best not to grin as I passed the offending piece of paper to my colleague.

“But….” he began.

“I did try to tell you,” I replied, only moments away from wetting myself with laughter (not literally, my bladder control is actually quite good).

My colleague grumbled for the entire three or four minutes that it took us to drive back to the house. “Maybe I should have listened to you,” he eventually mumbled, looking as if he were a bulldog chewing a wasp.

Evil or not, I did take a certain amount of satisfaction that I had been proved right when it came to my colleagues poor choice of parking spot. I felt vindicated that, as a woman, I did actually know how to drive, and where I could and couldn’t park. Most men would consider a woman criticising their driving the eighth deadly sin and naturally refuse to listen to the suggestion of any females situated in their car at that time.

Why do men have to be so chauvinistic when it comes to driving? Can’t they just accept that women are as good as, if not better at it than they are?

manvwomanWe all know that the male brain is only able to concentrate on one thing at a time. Driving, following directions and reading road signs requires multi-tasking and the ability to do several different things at once. Not only do your eyes and ears have to process what is going on around you, a driver also has to be able to move their legs and arms independently of each other in order to change gears, increase speed, brake, and turn the steering wheel.

This level of multi-tasking seems tailor-made for women to be superior drivers to men and what happened to my colleague only goes to prove the point that I am trying to make. If men spent a little less time with their brains in their pants and concentrated on driving properly, or at least set their ego to one side and allow their female passenger(s) to make sensible parking suggestions, they’d probably be as good at driving as we women are.

P.S. I am neither a man hater, feminist, or the next wanna-be Gloria Steinem. I actually like men very much…they have certain special uses… I love men really! πŸ™‚ ❀

12 Comments

Filed under Starting out, Thoughts for Friday

12 responses to “Thoughts for Friday – 6th February 2015

  1. Brilliant post, Heather, but one I won’t be sharing with Mr. Loveton or you may end up walking everywhere when you visit in August! πŸ˜†

    It was nice to start my day out with a chuckle – thank you! πŸ’œ

  2. I once left my brother (who has never passed his driving test) in a parking bay by the side of a dual carriageway after he tried to tell me how to drive. I gave him fair warning. The first time he made a comment I pointed out that he was wrong and suggested he learn to drive himself before passing judgment on another person’s driving skill. The second time he made a comment I pointed out that he was wrong and told him to shut up or get out of the car. The third time he did it i just pulled into the nearby parking bay and demanded he get out. I then drove off and left him there. My mum had to go and pick him up because I refused to let him get into my car again.

    PS: Feminists don’t hate men. They never have and they never will. That kind of comment is what alienates many people from the discussion of equality.

  3. History keeps repeating itself. Hilarious post and it didn’t cost money. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  4. Pingback: Wednesday Whine: The Brick Wall | Odyssey of a Novice Writer

  5. Good story! For some reason, it reminds me of a student of mine, Sara (I teach creative writing). Several years ago my writing class was invited to speak at a local library and read some of our short short stories. Sara’s story was about watching her (cute, muscled) mechanic work on her snazzy sports car. Sexy mechanic, sexy story. In the standing-room-only library room, half men/half women, the women laughed and tittered through the entire reading; the men looked aghast and horrified. Later the men said that that (1) ‘women don’t think that way (re men and sex) and (2) women don’t understand the mechanics of a car. The women in the room just rolled their eyes. Fascinating reactions from the two different sexes re cars and sex, huh?

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting ❀

      I think cars will always be quite a divisive subject between men and women. Men seem to think that they know more about vehicles than we do, and that is simply not true.

      I'm not sure if it has anything to do with male pride, but anything mechanical is seen to be their territory and that women should defer to them in such matters. The fact of the matter is that there are an increasing number of women working in the mechanical motor industry and there is also a number of female test drivers on the Formula One circuit which is seem as a 'male only' sport.

      Women have progressed it would seem, whereas men still seem to be stuck in the dark ages when it comes to the natural evolution of the ways of the world…. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

