Thoughts for Friday – 20th March 2015

exhausted-womanFear not, I am not about to subject you to a post about back passages (as suggested by Snakes in the Grass), mainly because I have not had enough time to research the topic this week. That doesn’t mean to say that I won’t find time in the next few weeks to cover such and interesting subject…

Lack of time has been something of an issue for me over the last couple of weeks. Why does life always have a way of throwing everything at you at once and then expecting you to deal with it without breaking a sweat? Why doesn’t life just pace itself a little more sedately so that I don’t feel as though I am running around like a dog chasing its tail?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not whinging that my life has become hectic of late, far from it in fact. I interviewed for a position last month that I had always aspired to but had never been able to attain. I gave it my best shot but returned home doubtful that I would be the successful candidate who got offered the role.

Well knock me down with a feather, I only went and got the job!

Believe me, no one was more surprised than I was to hear that I’d beaten the other applicants (through a mixture of sabotage and sticking pins in their effigies) to the job of my dreams. Not only was it a role that I had always wanted, it also meant a hefty wage increase and the chance of a company car later this year.

I’ve been walking around with my head in the clouds as far as the new position is concerned, but it has also meant that I’ve been extremely busy as I prepare to transition from my current role into one that is going to no doubt be a steep learning curve for me. My superiors have shown faith in me and now is the time to repay that.

work-hardAs well as working out my notice in my current role, I am also in the process of enrolling myself in courses for the qualifications I will need in my new position. All in all, it’s been a hectic few weeks…

Far be it for Heather B Costa to do things by halves, I’ve also had to deal with two new additions to the family: my mother’s new dog, Barney and my cousin’s newborn daughter, Chloe.

Barney is a King Charles Cavalier puppy who loves nothing more than chewing anything he can get his tiny little mouth on. He’s only a little guy, but he already has the heart and courage of a dog ten times his size. Barney often gets put in his place by my mother’s other dog Tig, but the little rascal will shake it off and then come back for more. Tig, it seems, can’t be bothered to put up much of a fight anymore and often lets Barney get on his bed with him during the day, either that or the little tyke has wormed his way into Tig’s affections too…

nappy-420x0Chloe arrived almost two weeks ago now and is the most gorgeous bundle of joy. She loves nothing more than a good cuddle and fell asleep on me the first time I held her. I have to admit that this is a marked improvement on when I first held Molly and Connor (they both screamed their heads off). I am taking it as a compliment that Chloe neither cried, threw up on me or pooped in her nappy when I held her – these are all good signs for when I come to babysit her in the coming months.

Barney and my sister Louise

Barney and my sister Louise

So I have a new job role to contend with, a new puppy and a new baby in the family, so if I miss a Friday post every now and again it will be due to one of three factors: I’m snowed under with my training, I’m clearing up puppy poo when visiting my mother, or I’m being thrown up on by a newborn baby. I see late nights, puppy training pads and wet wipes in my near future…

Kate Loveton once likened me to the Duracell Bunny and I have a feeling that I’m going to need to find some extra energy from somewhere in these next few months….

12 Comments

Filed under Thoughts for Friday

12 responses to “Thoughts for Friday – 20th March 2015

  1. You’ll do that posting on back passages yet!

    Congrats on the promotion! But isn’t life balancing? You may be more important at your job than you were before, but this doesn’t mean you don’t have to clean up the puppy and baby waste. There’s a future posting somewhere in that thought. πŸ˜‰

    • You really are trying to tempt me into writing some sort of naughty post, aren’t you? πŸ™‚

      It seems that clearing up puppy and baby poop will remind me not to get too big for my boots with my new promotion… πŸ™‚

  2. Many congratulations on the new job, Heather. And I’m sure the two new additions will bring many hours of joy ❀

  3. I’m happy about the job, the baby and the puppy. Good for you, Heather! I know how long you’ve wanted that job and had complete faith in you that you’d secure it. Well done, little Energizer Bunny!!

    • Thank you Kate! ❀

      You've been a constant in my life throughout the career ups and downs and so it's nice to finally be able celebrate getting the job I've always wanted πŸ™‚

  4. Heyyyyyyy Heather, how are ya? It’s been so long. I’m back from my brief hiatus now.
    First of all, a huge CONGRATULATIONS on landing your dream job. What will you be doing now? That’s great news. Is it closer to home? Do you still have to trek out to London?
    What a cute little dog. Awwwwww. Little dogs are soooooo cute. And congratulations on the new baby in the family too.
    I am posting on Fridays now too. I don’t think I have much time to do any more than that right now. As you know, I’ve just started homeschool my aspie. It got off to a rough start, but things are flowing along much better now.
    πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Hi Staci, so good to hear from you!

      I must apologise for not popping by your blog recently, I have been terribly remiss about that and hope to rectify that soon. Thank you so much for the good wishes, it is the role that I have aspired to for a while now and I will be concentrating my efforts on a teaching-based role come the start of next month.

      The puppy and the baby are keeping everyone’s hands pretty full at the moment and it’s hard to know which one of them is more adorable πŸ™‚

      I hope things are going really well with your son’s homeschooling ❀

      • Hi Heather, no need to apologize. I’ve just recently returned from my hiatus also, so you haven’t missed much.
        Congratulations on the teaching position. Isn’t it great when our dreams are fulfilled?
        Homeschooling got off to a bit of a rough start, but it’s coming along great now. Caue is much happier homeschooling and at our new location.
        Hugs and blessings.
        πŸ™‚ ❀

      • I’m really happy to hear that Caue is settling in to homeschooling and doing well.

        I am very much looking forward to starting my new teaching position next month and hoping that I can make it a success. It’s something I have been working toward for a number of years now so it’s nice that my hard work is paying off.

  5. Adan Ramie

    Congratulations on the job and the new family members! While it may seem like a lot at once, you have to admit you’re having quite the lucky streak. Enjoy it! πŸ™‚

    • Definitely! πŸ™‚

      My good luck cup runneth over at the moment! It’s been a whirlwind couple of months and I am still struggling to regain my equilibrium.

      It’s also been a hell of a fun ride so far and long may it continue πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

