Thoughts for Friday – 27th March 2015

This week’s post may be shorter than my usual weekly contribution, due to the fact that I have been struck down by a humdinger of a cold.

Those of you who have followed my blog throughout the last few years or so will know that, almost two years ago, the mighty Heather B Costa was felled by a flu-related virus of mammoth proportions, and all due to the fact that some butt-scratching, beer-bellied builder coughed in my face while I stood in line for my morning coffee at McDonalds.

mcdonald-s-coffee-coming-soon-to-grocery-storesFear not, I have learned the error of my ways and from that point forth, I have only ever used the drive-thru to get my morning java. Who would of guessed how much easier it is to NOT get out of your car and walk the 5 or so yards to the restaurant – if one can call it that.

What I had forgone on daily exercise, I’d gained from the fact that I remained cold/flu-virus free for the best part of two years.

Until now.

It might have something to do with the hectic month I’ve had, but I must have not been paying my immune system sufficient time and respect as it has now decided to all but abandon ship on me. I have been reduced to nothing more than a sorry-looking, wheezing, red-nosed, coughing, spluttering ruin of a woman. Strange fluids emanate from all kinds of orifices, and my lack of control over any of them is quite alarming.

I only wished that I looked this good right now...

I only wished that I looked this good right now…

Kate Loveton will tell you that I’m a pretty bad patient and not the type to let such an inconsequential thing as a little cold or flu knock me down. No, I struggle on through it and make the damn thing end up sticking around much longer than I wanted it to. The devil makes work for idle hands, as they say, and I find it hard to sit down and convalesce (even if it is the best thing for me).

Perhaps this is a case in point of my habit of over-sharing, but I have twice had to clean my laptop and tablet screens of the spittle projected from my mouth during a particularly violent coughing fit. If computers could contract human viruses, I am pretty sure that I could take down the FBI, MI5, and the Pentagon with this vile bug.

The virus isn’t really as bad as I am making it out to be, it’s just that I get a little grumpy when I feel under the weather and like to bitch and moan about it to anyone that will listen. I need hot tea, sympathy, and chicken noodle soup. I need pandering and pampering so that I can feel ever so slightly less dramatic about my sniffles.

stingI think I’ve used enough tissues in the last couple of days to end up on Sting’s hit list when it comes to those at fault for the decline of the Brazilian rainforests, swigged more cough medicine than a hard-up alcoholic on a binge, and coughed up enough weird-looking stuff that I could create a species of outer-world creature that wouldn’t look out of place on Star Trek: The Next Generation.

If I drop by your blog in the next week or so, please make sure that you’re wearing suitable protective gear as I am likely to cough, splutter and sneeze over everything within a 20 feet radius of me at the moment.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m pretty sure that’s Sting at my door…

21 Comments

Filed under Thoughts for Friday

21 responses to “Thoughts for Friday – 27th March 2015

  1. Even ill you manage to make me laugh 😀

    Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  2. Nothing, with the exception of death itself, is worse than a flu bug. In fact, there have been times when I’ve had the flu that I’ve wished for death to come free me from it. Glad you’re on the mend… hope you have learned to succumb to illness more and not be too brave.

    I have an aversion to drive-thru’s for some reason. I don’t know why, but I think it has something to do with paying for my order while sitting in the car — a fear of dropping coins, bills, or a debit card. Or maybe the hot liquid itself on my lap!

  3. I just got over a little cold myself, so I (marginally) feel your pain!

  4. You still have a good sense of humor. Hope you are well soon. No fun having your energy sapped. ❤

  5. Feel better soon, Heather. I sympathise as I’m housebound with a similar yucky bug 😷

  6. jan

    I’m going through the tissues like crazy too but in my case it’s the dreaded hay fever… and the lilac bush I dearly love obviously wishes me dead! Achoo! Feel better.

  7. Hey! Better you build up an immunity for all those nasty germs NOW than succumb when you come visit me in August! Who needs a rainforest, for pete’s sake?? 😀 Two months before you visit me, I want you to expose yourself to every nasty cold and virus germ there is so that when you board the flying pestilential tin can (i.e. jet liner), you won’t catch a blessed bug. After all, we have a very full itinerary!

    This was a very funny post, Heather. Hope your laptop is… um… now sanitized and completely… um… dry.

    Feel better, friend. ❤

  8. Eek! That doesn’t sound too good. I hope you’re doing a lot better now. Are ya?
    I remember the post about the McDonalds guy. Yuck. You did yourself well by using the drive through I guess eh.
    Any guesses as to where you picked this one up?
    🙂

    • I’m much better now, thank you, Staci ❤

      As for where I picked this latest virus up from, I was in close proximity to a group of sniffling and sneezing toddlers a few days before the symptoms presented. I'm guessing they might have had something to do with it 🙂

      • Eek! I think that’s why so many small kids get sick so often too. They’re around each other and haven’t learned about proper hygiene and all yet when it comes to covering the mouth, using kleenex for the nose, washing hands and stuff. Oh well, you got the bad end of it all too them.
        Glad you’re doing better now though.
        🙂

      • I’m pretty much fully recovered now and am feeling a lot better. Sometimes, I think it’s better for kids to be exposed to everyday germs so that their body can build up their natural immunity and ability to fight off infections and illnesses.

        Maybe I didn’t play with enough germs when I was a kid… 🙂

  9. My family would always prefer to use the drive-thru, but, I like the human interaction aspect, and the thrill of surviving hat another encounter with humanity, be it germs or conversation.
    Get well soon, HBC!

Leave a Reply

