How does a writer organise their thoughts?

I’m not sure if it is just me, but when I am completing the most mundane of tasks I usually stumble across what I think is a brilliant idea for a story. I then run around in a mad panic trying to find something to write my thoughts down on. I literally have pieces of paper dotted everywhere, even if it is just a line or a name that I might want to use in one of my projects.

As discussed in my last post, I have started using a simple spreadsheet to keep on top of my progress as I write chapters, but I also have a large A4 project book full of characters, places, crimes etc that I am planning to use. There are so many characters that I have had to write them all down and storyboard just how and when their plot threads will come together in a satisfying conclusion.

I have no idea if my process is the most efficient or beneficial in regards to becoming a ‘serious’ writer, but it seems to work for me. I find that if I don’t write an idea down before I go to bed that it will keep me up at night as my brain churns over the possibilities of what I could do with them.

I feel as if I have a hundred different stories bubbling away inside me and screaming to get out, yet there are never enough hours or opportunities in the day to give each one the time and attention they deserve.

Is it the curse of a writer to have an overactive imagination?

I sure hope so!

2 Comments

Filed under Starting out

2 responses to “How does a writer organise their thoughts?

  1. Oh my! I have little scraps of paper all over the place with bits of story ideas written on them. I usually try to gather them up and tape them into the book I keep of story outlines. It always surprises me that my best ideas come to me when I am in the middle of a treadmill session or driving to work – both times when I find it impossible to write the ideas down. Then I rush to get to work to jot down the idea – or stop right in the middle of my workout to look for a piece of paper!

Leave a Reply

